Panago Pizza adds vegan Daiya cheese to menu

Vegans no longer have to settle for a (sad) cheeseless pie when ordering from Panago Pizza.

That's because the popular pizza delivery company has added Daiya dairy-free cheese to its menu options.

On its corporate Facebook page, Panago posted today (May 26):

We’re excited to introduce the delicious and dairy free Daiya Cheese to our menu! Whether you’re dairy intolerant, allergic, vegan, or want to try something new - we’re on it!

Daiya is free for personal size pizzas. There's an extra charge for Daiya on small (25 cents), medium (50 cents), and large (75 cents) pizzas.

By the way, Panago's crusts and tomato sauces are free of milk and eggs, and meat-free pepperoni is on the list of toppings.

Update (May 28): While the gluten-free crust is vegan, the others are not because they contain animal-derived L-cysteine.

Comments (10) Add New Comment
Tricia
Too bad it's not vegan. Panago posted that there is l-cysteine in the crust
13
13
Rating: 0
Nate
And what is l-cysteine?
5
16
Rating: -11
YeahPizza!
The "Gluten Smart" crust is vegan... :)
14
11
Rating: +3
AR
Nate - l-cysteine is derived from human or animal hair (usually animal).
8
11
Rating: -3
CommonSen$e
When will vegans admit they are just doing this for attention?
9
75
Rating: -66
Pizza
There is also the local Vegan Pizza House on Kingsway, offering pizza, pasta and many other vegan, lactose-free and gluten-free choices.
17
12
Rating: +5
Mort
CommonSen$e - maybe you should do some research on veganism before posting something like that.
26
12
Rating: +14
AllergyQueen
Yes, @CommonSen$e, my allergies are totally for attention and not debilitating -_- Being vegan is not for attention, it's so I don't die, and if it helps the planet in the process, good.
19
8
Rating: +11
B
Thanks for the update!
6
8
Rating: -2
jim
Being vegan is not something people do for the attention, it is something they do because they realize that it is wrong to exploit and kill billions of sentient beings every year when we don't have too.

I emailed Panago to ask for more details after reading some of their crusts aren’t vegan. Here is the response I got:


Thank you for your query. Know there are many types of Vegetarian. A traditional Vegetarian, who would eat dairy, or a Vegan, who would not eat any animal products.

I have included a list below suitable for a Vegan who would not eat dairy or eggs or any other animal products below. All items, such as the Mono and Diglycerides contained in all below have been confirmed to be vegetable sourced.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any further questions or concerns. We have found both Vegans and Vegetarians define what they do or do not consider acceptable for themselves and would be glad to discuss any specific ingredient.

Thank You,

Amy Gunness
Panago Pizza Inc.


Below are the current Vegan-friendly options (contains no animal meat or animal byproducts):

Dough-good for Vegans
Gluten Free Crust
Multigrain Hand-Tossed
Multigrain Thin

Cheese-good for Vegans
Daiya

Sauces-good for Vegans
Italian Tomato Sauce
Topical Sauce
Passata Sauce
Hot Buffalo Sauce
Salsa Sauce
BBQ Sauce

Toppings-good for Vegans
Meat-free Pepperoni
Roasted Garlic
Jalapeno Peppers
Hot Banana Peppers
Roasted Corn Medley
Kalamata Olives
Black Olives
Green Olives
Fire Roasted Tomatoes
Pineapple
Mixed Grilled Veggies
Red Pepper
Green Pepper
Red onion
Lettuce
Cooked tomatoes
Fresh Tomatoes
Baby Spinach

Salads-(dips and dressings below)good for Vegans
Salads are ok, if any cheese that is not Daiya is removed

Dips/Dressings-good for Vegans
Italian Tomato Dip
BBQ Dip
Cayenne Hot Sauce Dip

Shakers-good for Vegans
Italiano Shaker
Chilli Shaker

Cucina Products-good for Vegans
Panago Cucina Cayenne Hot Sauce
19
9
Rating: +10
Add new comment
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.