Condo king Bob Rennie to get Order of British Columbia

1 of 1 2 of 1

Lieutenant-Governor Judith Guichon has announced the 25 recipients of the province's highest honour for this year.

The names include artist Douglas Coupland, Concert Properties chair David Podmore, former NHL coach Pat Quinn, and condo marketer Bob Rennie.

Here's the full list of 2014 Order of British Columbia recipients from the provincial government's news release:

Roger H. Barnsley, Ph.D., of Parksville - educator and founding president of Thompson Rivers University.

Peter Bentley, O.C., Hon. LL.D. of Vancouver - forest industry executive and community leader.

Dana Brynelsen, Hon. LL.D. of Halfmoon Bay - visionary in the field of early childhood intervention for people with special needs.

John A. Cairns, M.D., FRCPC, FCAHS, FRCP, FACC of Vancouver - heart disease researcher and educator.

Tung Chan, Hon. LL.D. of Richmond, honorary captain in the Royal Canadian Navy - volunteer, philanthropist and immigrant-community leader.

William Clifford, M.D., B.Sc., B.Med.Sci, M.ScF, FCFP of Prince George - physician and health information technology pioneer.

Douglas Coupland, O.C., D.Litt, R.C.A of West Vancouver - writer, designer, visual artist and global change-maker.

Gloria Cuccione of Coquitlam - philanthropist and fundraiser for childhood cancer research.

Leslie Diamond of Vancouver - philanthropist and community volunteer.

James C. Hogg, O.C., M.D., Ph.D., F.R.S.C. of Vancouver - lung disease researcher and educator.

Jane Hungerford of Vancouver - volunteer, fundraiser and community leader.

Paul Lacerte of Victoria - leader and advocate for the betterment of Aboriginal people.

Donald R. Lindsay of Vancouver - business leader and advocate for the well-being of children.

Anne Lippert of Vancouver - trailblazer among women in business and community leader.

The Honourable Leonard Marchand, P.C., C.M., M.S.F. of Kamloops - Parliamentarian and advocate for justice for First Nations.

K. Barry Marsden, C.M. of West Vancouver - innovative developer of aerial firefighting equipment and aerospace technology.

Chief Chester Moore of Terrace - hereditary chieftain and promoter of Nisga'a culture.

Rudolph North, C.M., B.Comm. Hon. LL.D. of Vancouver - philanthropist, humanitarian and business leader.

David R. Podmore of Vancouver - industry and community leader.

John Brian Patrick Quinn, O.C., J.D., Hon. LL.D. of West Vancouver - professional hockey executive and gold-medal winning coach.

Bob Rennie of Vancouver - business leader and patron of arts and culture.

Chief Councillor Ellis Ross of Kitamaat Village Haisla - business, political and community leader.

Lorne R. Segal of Vancouver - community philanthropist and business leader.

Aubrey Tingle, M.D., Ph.D., Hon. D.Sc , FRCPC, FCAHS of Richmond - health research leader, builder and mentor.

Hal Weinberg, Ph.D. of Anmore - brain behaviour researcher and local government leader.

The investiture ceremony will be held at Government House in Victoria on November 6.

Members of the Order of B.C. include Gordon Campbell, David Emerson, and John Furlong.

Show 3 Comments
post a comment


Post a Comment


May 28, 2014 at 5:11pm

cheapens the honour? being Christy Clarks bagman and fundraiser hardly cause for being awarded the Order of BC - sad to see politicians using it as some kinda way to reward their personal friends.


May 28, 2014 at 8:43pm

Is this BC's sad little version of giving Kissinger the Nobel peace prize?


May 29, 2014 at 1:42am

coupland is a 'global change-maker'

Join the Discussion

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.