Leo Awards 2010 final winners: Alice, Sanctuary, Excited on top

As the second evening of Leo Awards concluded tonight at the Westin Bayshore, the TV miniseries Alice, a new take on the Alice in Wonderland story, led the winners of the Leo Awards, picking up a total of eight awards in a range of technical categories.

The sci-fi series Sanctuary, which headed into the awards with 17 nominations, followed with seven awards, including best male lead performance for Robin Dunne, best supporting male performance for Christopher Heyerdahl, and best guest performance for Christopher Gauthier.

The short film “The Gray Matter” also garnered seven awards, including best short program.

Bruce Sweeney’s Excited won the best feature-length drama, and collected a total of four awards, including best feature-length director for Sweeney, best female lead for Laara Sadiq, and best supporting female for Gabrielle Rose.

See also

Leo Awards 2010 red carpet: Kristin Kreuk, Sanctuary and Excited cast, Twilight's Jodelle Ferland, and more

Leo Awards 2010: Celebration Awards winners list

Leo Awards 2010: Alice, Sanctuary, The Gray Matter lead technical winners

Leo Awards get set with Babz Chula tribute

Best supporting male performance in a feature-length drama went to Cole’s Chad Willett while Keep Your Head Up: The Don Cherry Story’s Jared Kesso won the best lead male performance in a feature-length drama.

Stargate Universe, which had 17 nominations, ended up with six awards, including best dramatic series. Wolf Canyon, a comedy series about a TV cast and crew shooting on a Native reserve, won five awards, including best music, comedy or variety series or program.

Erin Karpluk of the hit CBC TV series Being Erica won the best female lead performance in a dramatic series. The series was recently renewed by the CBC for a third season.

Facing Ali won four awards, including best feature-length documentary.

In a new category, Best Web Series, The Vetala beat Riese, which garnered a lot of media attention this past year. Walter Daroshin had explained to the Straight that the category had been introduced the previous year, but that there hadn’t been enough eligible submissions for the award to run until this year.

Another new category this year was stunt coordination, which Marshall Virtue of Alice won.

Here is a full list of winners from the Gala Awards Celebration.


Best Program
Excited, Bruce Sweeney, Catherine Middleton (producers)

Best Cinematography
Jon Joffin, Alice

Best Musical Score
Ben Mink, Alice

Best Stunt Coordination
Marshall Virtue, Alice

Best Supporting Performance, Male
Chad Willett, Cole

Best Supporting Performance, Female
Gabrielle Rose, Excited

Best Lead Performance, Male
Jared Kesso, Keep Your Head Up: The Don Cherry Story

Best Lead Performance, Female
Laara Sadiq, Excited


Best Program
Stargate Universe, Brad Wright, Robert Cooper, Carl Binder, Joseph Mallozi, Paul Mulle, John G. Lenic, N. John Smith (producers)

Best Cinematography
Michael Blundell, Stargate Universe, “Human”

Best Stunt Coordination
Jacob Rupp, Smallville, “Rapid”

Best Guest Performance, Male
Christopher Gauthier, Sanctuary, “Hero”

Best Supporting Performance, Male
Christopher Heyerdahl, Sanctuary, “Haunted”

Best Supporting Performance, female
Julia Benson, Stargate Universe, “Pain”

Best Lead Performance, Male
Robin Dunne, Sanctuary, “Pavor Nocturnus”

Best Lead Performance, Female
Erin Karpluk, Being Erica, “Being Dr. Tom”


Best Program
“The Gray Matter”, Tovah Paglaro, Samantha Jo Simmonds (producer)

Best Cinematography
James Liston, “The Gray Matter”

Best Musical Score
Matthew Rogers, “The Gray Matter”

Best Performance by a Male
David Richmond-Peck, “Instant”

Best Performance by a Female
Skeena Reece, “Savage”


Best Feature-Length Program
Facing Ali, Derik Murray, Paul Gertz (producers)

Best Short Program
“This Land”, Selwyn Jacob (producer)

Best Series
Ice Pilots NWT, David Gullason, Gabriela Schonbach, Michael Chechik (producers)


Best Program
The Nature of Things, Michael Allder (producer)

Best Host(s)
Anna Wallner, Kristina Matisic, Anna & Kristina’s Grocery Bag, “Cowboy in the Kitchen”


Best Program
Wolf Canyon, Cynde Harmon, Allan Harmon (producers)

Best Performance or Hosts(s)
Jessica Harmon, Wolf Canyon, “Hairy Lawman”


Best Program
League of Super Evil, Asaph Fipke, Ken Faier, Chuck Johnson (producers)


Best Program
“Trolls”, Brianne Nord-Stewart (producer)


Best Program
Stormworld, Shawn Williamson, Ian Hogg, Paul Barron, Stephen Hegyes (producers)

Best Performance
Calum Worthy, Stormworld, “Three Day Sun”


Best Program
“Road Regrets”, Dan Mangan, Jon Busby, Jesse Davidge, Marc Demers (producers)


The Vetala, Damon Vignale, Jon Funk, Peter Scarth (producers)

Comments (0) Add New Comment
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.