British Columbia MPs overlooked in Justin Trudeau cabinet shuffle

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Prime Minister Justin Trudeau appointed three new cabinet ministers today—and none are among the 14 Liberal MPs from B.C. not already in cabinet.

      Rookie Quebec MP François-Philippe Champagne (Saint-Maurice—Champlain), has become the minister of international trade. The former minister, Chrystia Freeland, has been promoted to minister of foreign affairs and will retain control over trade relations with the United States.

      A rookie Ontario MP, Karina Gould (Burlington), is the new minister of democratic institutions, replacing Maryam Monsef, who became minister for the status of women.

      A third rookie MP from Ontario, Ahmed Hussen (York South–Weston), is the new minister of immigration, refugees and citizenship.

      Trudeau said he will propose the former immigration minister, John McCallum, to the Chinese government as Canada's new ambassador to China. Former foreign affairs minister and former party leader Stéphane Dion has announced that he "shall deploy his efforts outside politics" after 21 years as an MP.

      The former minister for status of women, Patricia Hajdu, is the new minister of employment, workforce development and labour, replacing MaryAnn Mihychuk (Kildonan–St. Paul), who's now a backbencher.

      B.C.'s longest-serving MP is Hedy Fry, who's represented the Liberals in Vancouver Centre ever since she defeated then prime minister Kim Campbell in 1993. 

      Fry is chair of the Commons heritage committee.

      The next longest-serving Liberal MP from B.C. is Joyce Murray, who was first elected in Vancouver Quadra in a by-election in 2008. She's parliamentary secretary to the president of the Treasury Board, Scott Brison.

      B.C. has three cabinet minister: Jody Wilson-Raybould, Harjit Sajjan, and Carla Qualtrough.