2008 Federal Election

Countdown to the Polls


Leader: Stephen Harper
(Calgary Southwest)
Seats won in last election: 124
Party web site

Leader: Stéphane Dion
Seats won in last election: 103
Party web site

Leader: Jack Layton
Seats won in last election: 29
Party web site

Leader: Elizabeth May
(Central Nova)
Seats won in last election: 0
Party web site

Leader: Gilles Duceppe
Seats won in last election: 51
Party web site

In the 2006 federal election, the Conservatives won 124 seats; the Liberals captured 103 seats; 51 Bloc Québécois MPs were elected; the New Democrats took 29 seats. One independent candidate was elected in Quebec.

In B.C. in 2006, the Conservatives won 17 of 36 seats. The New Democrats won 10 seats and the Liberals won nine.

If you go to each riding listed below, you can post comments at the bottom of the page.

Metro Vancouver Federal Ridings

Vancouver Centre
Vancouver East
Vancouver Kingsway
Vancouver Quadra
Vancouver South
Burnaby - Douglas
Burnaby - New Westminster
North Vancouver
West Vancouver - Sunshine Coast - Sea to Sky Country
Delta - Richmond East
Newton - North Delta
Port Moody - Westwood - Port Coquitlam
New Westminster - Coquitlam
Surrey North
South Surrey - White Rock - Cloverdale
Fleetwood - Port Kells
Pitt Meadows - Maple Ridge - Mission