Winners picked in Coquitlam and Anmore civic by-elections

Voters selected a new councillor for the City of Coquitlam and a new mayor for the Village of Anmore during two separate by-elections held over the weekend.

Neal Nicholson beat seven other candidates to return to a seat on Coquitlam council. He earned 2,490 votes, according to preliminary results.

Nicholson, who previously served on the council after winning a 2007 by-election, replaces Fin Donnelly, the New Democrat MP for New Westminster-Coquitlam.

In Anmore, Heather Anderson won the three-way mayoral race with 572 votes, according to official results. Anderson replaces Hal Weinberg, who stepped down in December.

Results from both May 15 by-elections are as follows:


Neal Nicholson 2,490 (Winner)

Terry O’Neill 1,826

Brian Babcock 453

Ralph Banni 396

Andy Wickey 360

Owen Coomer 180

Andy Shen 127

Massimo Mandarino 90


Heather Anderson 572 (Winner)

Robert Tribe 162

Arthur Crossman 7



glen p robbins

May 18, 2010 at 9:19am

Good outcome

15 8Rating: +7