2012 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre to be the last

Calls went out this week for nominations for the Elinore & Lou Siminovitch Prize in Theatre.

But tucked in the news release announcing the nomination process was this line: "This year also marks the final year for the Siminovitch Prize."

The $100,000 award, which honours direction, playwriting and design in three-year cycles, was established in 2001.

Recent honorees have included Victoria-based playwright Joan MacLeod (2012); Vancouver director Kim Collier (2010); and Toronto-based puppeteer Ronnie Burkett (2009).

Joseph Rotman, chair of the Canada Council and a founder of the prize, was unavailable for comment today, but a member of his staff told the Straight the prize was being cancelled due to lack of funding.

In a news release, Rotman said: "The founders are proud of what the prize has achieved and are pleased to have played a role in honouring the significant contributions made by Elinore and Lou Siminovitch to Canadian society, in a way that would reflect their mutual life-long love for the arts and, in particular, the theatre."



Annabel Kershaw

Mar 15, 2012 at 10:29pm

Another one bites the dust. What a terrible week for the arts in Canada - especially Vancouver.

0 0Rating: 0