Winners of the 2018 B.C. Book Prizes revealed at downtown gala

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      The province's writing and publishing communites gathered last night at the Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront in downtown Vancouver for the 34th annual B.C. Book Prizes gala. Host Billeh Nickerson joined presenters in handing out the awards and a $2,000 cash prize in each of the seven categories.

      Here are this year's winners:

      Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, awarded to the author of the best work of fiction:
      • David Chariandy, Brother (McClelland & Stewart)

      Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize, to recognize the author(s) of the book that contributes most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia:
      • Kotaro Hayashi, Fumio “Frank” Kanno, Henry Tanaka, and Jim Tanaka (editors), Changing Tides: Vanishing Voices of Nikkei Fishermen and Their Families (Nikkei National Museum & Cultural Centre)

      Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize, awarded to the author(s) of the best original nonfiction literary work:
      • Arthur Manuel and Grand Chief Ronald Derrickson, The Reconciliation Manifesto: Recovering the Land, Rebuilding the Economy (James Lorimer and Company Ltd., Publishers)

      Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize, awarded to the author of the best work of poetry:
      • Mercedes Eng, Prison Industrial Complex Explodes (Talonbooks)

      Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize, presented to the best illustrated book written for children:
      • Faith Erin Hicks, The Nameless City: The Stone Heart (First Second)

      Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize, awarded to the best nonillustrated book written for children:
      • G. S. Prendergast, Zero Repeat Forever (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

      Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award, presented to the originating publisher and author(s) of the best book in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production, and content:
      • Pat Carney, On Island: Life Among the Coast Dwellers (TouchWood Editions)