JFL NorthWest announces nominees for 2019 Vancouver Comedy Awards

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Nominees for the second annual Vancouver Comedy Awards have just been announced by JFL NorthWest.

      Launched last year during the fest, the awards span not only expected categories like Best Sketch Group and Best Album, but witty prizes for Most Lovable, Best Headshot, and Cutest Comedy Cat (Snickers, Garbage, and Gertie are in a tight race).

      Well-known laugh-getters Graham Clark, Ivan Decker, and Charlie Demers are all vying for one of the biggest awards, Best Local Headliner. 

      Stop Podcasting Yourself, Retail Nightmares, and What’s So Funny? are all up for Best Comedy Podcast.

      Winners will be announced at the festival next February. It runs February 14 to 23, 2019, and has announced guests like Howie Mandel, Whitney Cummings, Gabriel Inglesias, and Antoni Porowski.


      The full list is as follows:

      Favourite Comedy Room

      Little Mountain Gallery
      China Cloud
      The Kino


      Best Show for First Timers

      Komedy At Kino

      Fox Hole Comedy
      Blind Tiger Shows

      Most Likely to Ask For A Pen

      Ryan Williams

      Mike Greenwood
      Ross Dauk


      Best Crowd Work

      Graham Clark
      Jane Stanton
      Dino Archie


      Best Merchandise

      The Lady Show
      Chris Gordon
      Retail Nightmares

      Best Comedy Podcast

      Stop Podcasting Yourself
      Retail Nightmares
      What’s So Funny?

      Most Likely to Offer You A Ride Home After A Show

      Doug Radford
      Kody Audette
      Ryan Gunther


      Best Dressed

      Katie-Ellen Humphries
      Ivan Decker
      Dino Archie


      Best Open Mic

      Komedy at Kino
      Yuk Yuk’s Vancouver
      Bomb Shelter (Goldie’s)
      Magic Mic

      Best Weekly Show

      The Sunday Service
      Jokes Please!
      Laugh Gallery


      Best Monthly Show

      Road Battle @ Little Mountain Gallery
      The Hero Show @ China Cloud
      Barely Legal @ Slice of Life Gallery

      Best Comedy Class

      Instant Theatre w/ Katie-Ellen Humphries
      Blind Tiger
      Yuk Yuk’s University w/ Brett Martin



      Best Album

      Erica Sigurdson – Situational Feminist
      Mayce Galoni – Awkwarder
      Jane Stanton – Date Nigebsite


      Most Enlightening Provocateur

      Charlie Demers
      Katie-Ellen Humphries
      Chris James


      Most Lovable

      Dave Harris
      Graham Clark
      Aaron Read

      Best Comedian to Road Gig With

      Steev Letts
      Chris Griffin
      Steve McGowen

      Best Outsiders Gig

      Dakoda’s (Kelowna)
      The Queens (Nanaimo)
      Heckler’s (Victoria)

      Best Clean Joke

      Aaron Read – Stuff You Can Do When You’re Poor
      Mayce Galoni – Jesus
      Ivan Decker – Tacos


      Best Dirty Joke

      Sophie Buddle – Blow Job Cover
      Gavin Matts – Eating P*ssy with a Hat on
      Randee Neumeyer – Diva Cup


      Best Headshot

      Racquel Belmonte
      Mattu Vu
      Ivan Decker


      Best Instagram Account

      Katie Burrell
      Jenny Toewes
      Alicia Tobin / Hank the dog


      Best Twitter Account

      Alicia Tobin
      Graham Clark
      Sophie Buddle


      Tweet of the Year

      Norm Macdonald – Pinning Sean McDonnell’s Set
      Matty Vu – Coming at the Same Time as Skip the Dishes
      Ryan Williams – I think I’ve watched too much porn…


      Best Youtube Clip

      Charlie Demers – Taco Nazi
      Aaron Read & Ryan Beil – Ex Cop New Roomate
      Ronald Dario – Fun Cults


      Best Web Series

      Girl Vs The City
      Chris James – Not Even A Show
      Andrew Barber – Michelle’s Restaurant


      Best local Independent Producer

      Steve Allen & Laura Acilli
      Cameraon Macleod
      Suzy Rawesome


      Best Non-Comedian Comedy Supporter

      Chris Bentzen
      Chantal Michaud
      Doug Radford


      Best Comedy Parent

      Graham Clark
      Caitlin Howden
      Steve Allen
      Katie-Ellen Humphries


      Cutest Comedy Cat

      Snickers (Shane Clark)
      Garbage (Oli Maughan)
      Gertie (Jackie Hoffart)

      Best Show Artwork

      The Kino Posters
      Roast Battles
      Come Draw With Me


      Best Local Headliner

      Graham Clark
      Ivan Decker

      Charlie Demers


      Best Local Host / MC

      Chris Griffin
      Katie-Ellen Humphries
      Graham Clark


      Best Improvisor

      Caitlin Howden
      Aaron Read
      Ryan Beil


      Best Sketch Group

      Brunch Comedy
      The Lady Show


      Best Improv Group

      The Sunday Service
      Nasty Women
      Little Mountain Improv


      Best Variety Show

      Talent Time
      The Lady Show
      All You Can Eat Laundry


      Toughest Act to Follow

      Charlie Demers
      Aaron Read

      Ivan Decker


      Joke of the Year

      Ivan Decker – Cream of Wheat
      Erica Sigurdson – Sponsor Child
      Fatima Dhowre – Family Nickname


      Breakout Artist of the Year

      Steev Letts
      Tin Lorica
      Mayce Galoni
      Fatima Dhowre