Several B.C. authors included in 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist

    1 of 12 2 of 12

      Over 100 books were narrowed down to 12 titles that were announced today as the longlist for a national award that honours the best in Canadian fiction.

      Last year’s winner, Washington Black author Esi Edugyan from Victoria, B.C., hosted an event in St. John’s, Newfoundland, today (September 3) to announce the 12 books, selected from from 117 literary works submitted for consideration, that made the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist.

      The jury consisted of Canadian authors Randy Boyagoda (jury chair) and Donna Bailey Nurse; Canadian playwright José Teodoro; Scottish-Sierra Leonean author Aminatta Forna; and Bosnian-American author Aleksandar (Sasha) Hemon.

      Among the nominees are author Margaret Atwood with The Testaments, a sequel to her 1985 novel The Handmaid’s Tale.

      Several nominees are based in British Columbia.

      Alix Ohlin , who is the chair of UBC Creative Writing, was selected for her novel Dual Citizens while UBC Creative Writing assistant professor Ian Williams was named for his novel Reproduction.

      Also from B.C. is Michael Christie, who divides his time between Victoria and Galiano Island, for his novel Greenwood.

      Steven Price, who is also from Victoria, was nominated for his novel Lampedusa.

      Megan Gail Coles from St. John’s, who is completing an MFA at UBC, was named for Small Game Hunting at the Local Coward Gun Club.  

      The longlist includes:    

      • André Alexis for his novel Days by Moonlight, published by Coach House Books;
      • Margaret Atwood for her novel The Testaments, published by McClelland and Stewart;
      • David Bezmozgis for his short story collection Immigrant City, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.;
      • Michael Christie for his novel Greenwood, published by McClelland and Stewart;
      • Megan Gail Coles for her novel Small Game Hunting at the Local Coward Gun Club, published by House of Anansi Press;
      • Michael Crummey for his novel The Innocents, published by Doubleday Canada;
      • Adam Foulds for his novel Dream Sequence, published by Biblioasis;
      • K.D. Miller for her short story collection Late Breaking, published by Biblioasis;
      • Alix Ohlin for her novel Dual Citizens, published by House of Anansi Press;
      • Steven Price for his novel Lampedusa, published by McClelland & Stewart;
      • Zalika Reid-Benta for her short story collection Frying Plantain, published by Astoria, an imprint of House of Anansi Press;
      • Ian Williams for his novel Reproduction, published by Random House Canada.

      The shortlist will be announced in Toronto on September 30.

      Between the Pages, a series of readings featuring this year’s shortlisted authors, will tour across Canada, with an event at the Playhouse Theatre in Vancouver on October 21.

      The 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize gala will air on CBC at 6 p.m. (PT) on November 18 and livestreamed on CBC Books.

      The winner of the Scotiabank Giller Prize will receive $100,000 while each of the finalists will receive $10,000.

      You can follow Craig Takeuchi on Twitter at @cinecraig or on Facebook.