Michael J. Fox, Jazzy B, Joe Keithley among names added to BC Entertainment Hall of Fame StarWalk

    1 of 2 2 of 2

      A Hollywood star and a punk-rock icon are joining the walk of fame on the Granville Street sidewalk.

      Today, the B.C. Entertainment Hall of Fame announced its 2016 StarWalk honorees are Burnaby-raised Hollywood star Michael J. Fox, stage performer and gospel singer Marcus Mosely, conductor, composer, and music producer Hal Beckett, Bhangra talent Jazzy B (Jaswinder Singh Bains), and D.O.A. frontman Joe Keithley.

      In addition to earning Hollywood-style sidewalk stars, the StarWalk honorees—all recognized for "enhancing the province’s cultural profile"—will have their photo displayed in the StarWall gallery in the historic Orpheum Theatre upper lobby.

      The Hall of Fame also named 13 Pioneer Stars, recognizing those who have left an indelible mark on B.C.’s entertainment landscape and this year: musicians George Calangis (onetime leader of the the Commodore Ballroom orchestra), Sharman King (bass trombonist), Tom Lavin (of the Powder Blues), Ian McDougall (trombonist and composer), Linda McRae (Celtic-folk artist), and Tab Shori (of the Hi-Fives); dancer Renee Cherrier (who performed on The Wayne & Shuster Show and now a member of the Vancouver Ballet Society); producers Rai Purdy, Steve Edge (artistic/executive director of the Rogue Folk Club ) and the Filippone Brothers (producers of shows at the Orpheum, and owners of The Penthouse); and directors Crawford Hawkins (executive director of the Directors Guild of Canada), Diane Loomer (founder of both Elektra Women’s Choir and Chor Leoni Men’s Choir), and Carole Tarlington (founder of Vancouver Youth Theatre).

      "The BC Entertainment Hall of Fame is proud and excited to present a very diverse and impressive group of Pioneer and StarWalk inductees who represent artistic excellence in British Columbia," Rob Haynes, president of the B.C. Entertainment Hall of Fame, said in a press announcement. “We look forward to scheduling and celebrating their individual inductions at various high profile events over the coming months honouring their contribution.”

      The first induction will take place on Thursday (May 26), with Michael J. Fox at a private gala dinner. Other induction ceremonies will take place in venues around British Columbia.

      To date, the Hall of Fame has recognized more than 275 performers, producers, agents, broadcasters, managers, and patrons on Granville Street’s StarWalk or in the Orpheum lobby.