Shortlists announced for the 2017 B.C. Book Prizes

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Organizers of the 33rd annual B.C. Book Prizes have revealed the nominees in the seven categories recognized by these prestigious awards. The winners will be named at the Lieutenant Governor's B.C. Book Prizes Gala, slated for April 29 at Vancouver's Pinnacle Harbourfront Hotel, where a purse of $19,000 will be divvied up along with the trophies. In the meantime, on April 4, the recipient of this year's Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence will be announced, recognizing yet another writer who's made a major contributions to the art in the province. 

      Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, awarded to the author of the best work of fiction:
      • Joan Haggerty, The Dancehall Years (Mother Tongue)
      • Anosh Irani, The Parcel (Knopf Canada)
      • Ashley Little, Niagara Motel (Arsenal Pulp)
      • Jennifer Manuel, The Heaviness of Things That Float (Douglas and McIntyre)
      • Jen Sookfong Lee, The Conjoined (ECW )

      Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize to recognize the author(s) of the book that contributes most to the
      enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia:
      • Anthony Kenyon, The Recorded History of the Liard Basin 1790-1910: Where British Columbia Joins the Yukon and N.W.T. (Fort Nelson News)
      • Michael Layland, A Perfect Eden: Encounters by Early Explorers of Vancouver Island (TouchWood)
      • David Pitt-Brooke, Crossing Home Ground: A Grassland Odyssey Through Southern Interior British Columbia (Harbour)
      • Christopher Pollon, with photos by Ben Nelms, The Peace in Peril: The Real Cost of the Site C Dam (Harbour)
      • Neil J. Sterritt, Mapping My Way Home: A Gitxsan History (Creekstone)

      Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize, awarded to the author of the best original nonfiction literary work:
      • Carmen Aguirre, Mexican Hooker #1: And My Other Roles Since the Revolution (Random House Canada)
      • Deborah Campbell, A Disappearance in Damascus: A Story of Friendship and Survival in the Shadow of War (Knopf Canada)
      • Mohamed Fahmy, with Carol Shaben, The Marriott Cell: An Epic Journey from Cairo’s Scorpion Prison to Freedom (Random House Canada)
      • Joy Kogawa, Gently to Nagasaki (Caitlin)
      • Mark Leiren-Young, The Killer Whale Who Changed the World (Greystone)

      Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize awarded to the author of the best work of poetry:
      • Adèle Barclay, If I Were in a Cage I’d Reach Out for You (Nightwood)
      • Anne Fleming, poemw (Pedlar)
      • Juliane Okot Bitek, 100 Days (University of Alberta)
      • Rob Taylor, The News (Gaspereau)
      • Richard Therrien, Sleeping in Tall Grass (University of Alberta)

      Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize, presented to the best illustrated book written for children:
      • Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Julie Flett, My Heart Fills with Happiness (Orca)
      • Julie Morstad, illustrated by Julie Morstad, Today (Simply Read)
      • Margriet Ruurs, illustrated by Nizar Ali Badr, Stepping Stones: A Refugee Family’s Journey (Orca)
      • Nikki Tate, Deep Roots: How Trees Sustain Our Planet (Orca)
      • Roy Henry Vickers and Robert Budd, illustrated by Roy Henry Vickers, Peace Dancer (Harbour)

      Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize, awarded to the best nonillustrated book written for children:
      • Kathleen Cherry, Everyday Hero (Orca)
      • Iain Lawrence, The Skeleton Tree (Tundra)
      • R.K. McLay, The Rahtrum Chronicles: The Dream (Fifth House)
      • Kit Pearson, A Day of Signs and Wonders (HarperCollins)
      • Robin Stevenson, Pride: Celebrating Diversity & Community (Orca)

      Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award presented to the originating publisher and author(s) of the best book in
      terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production, and content:
      • Aaron Chapman, The Last Gang in Town: The Epic Story of the Vancouver Police vs. the Clark Park Gang (Arsenal Pulp)
      • Wade Davis, Wade Davis: Photographs (Douglas and McIntyre)
      • Michael Layland, A Perfect Eden: Encounters by Early Explorers of Vancouver Island (TouchWood)
      • Roy Henry Vickers and Robert Budd, Peace Dancer (Harbour)
      • Richard Wagamese, Embers: One Ojibway’s Meditations (Douglas and McIntyre)