Vancouver authors among nominees for 2018 International Dublin Literary Award

    1 of 6 2 of 6

      Among the 150 book titles nominated for the International Dublin Literary Award, announced on November 6, are 14 Canadian novels.

      The annual literary prize, organized by Dublin city council, for a single work of fiction in English is worth €100,000 ($148,020 Cdn).

      Two Canadian authors have previously won the award: Alistair MacLeod in 2001 for No Great Mischief, and Rawi Hage for De Niro's Game in 2008.

      Several Vancouver and B.C. writers are among this year's nominees.

      Vancouver's Jen Sookfong Lee was named for her crime-fiction novel based in the Downtown Eastside, The Conjoined.

      Vancouver author Anosh Irani

      Bombay-raised, Vancouver-based Anosh Irani received a nomination for his fourth novel The Parcel, about a hijra (third gender or transgender) sex worker in Bombay.

      Vancouver-raised, Montreal-based Madeleine Thien was named for Do Not Say We Have Nothing. The novel, about an SFU mathematician who recalls events during the 1989 Tiananmen Square uprising, previously won the Scotiabank Giller Prize in 2016.

      Okanagan-based Ashley Little, a UBC MFA in Creative Writing graduate, was named for Niagara Motel, which was also a finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize.  

      Ashley Little

      Victoria's Steven Price was nominated for By Gaslight, a historical suspense novel set in London in 1885.

      The list of nominated Canadian books and authors are:

      13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl by Mona Awad
      Transit by Rachel Cusk
      The Island of Books by Dominique Fortier, translated by Rhonda Mullins
      This Marlowe by Michelle Butler Hallett
      The Parcel by Anosh Irani
      The Conjoined by Jen Sookfong Lee
      The Party Wall  by Catherine Leroux
      Niagara Motel by Ashley Little
      Flannery by Lisa Moore
      By Gaslight by Steven Price
      Today I Learned It Was You by Edward Riche
      The Last Half of the Year by Paul Rowe
      Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
      The Break by Katherena Vermette

      For the full list of nominees from around the world, visit the International Dublin Literary Prize website. 

      The shortlist will be announced in April and the winner will be announced on June 13.