B.C.'s Scott Niedermayer among five named to Hockey Hall of Fame

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Scott Niedermayer will take his rightful spot in the Hockey Hall of Fame this fall.

      The smooth-skating Cranbrook native who captained Canada's gold medal winning team at the 2010 Olympics will be enshrined in the Hall in November along with longtime Detroit Red Wings teammates Chris Chelios and Brendan Shanahan. >

      Geraldine Heaney, a star on the 2002 Canadian women's team that struck gold at the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics, and former Philadelphia Flyers head coach Fred Shero will also be inducted.

      Niedermayer, who will turn 40 next month, was a three-time Stanley Cup champion who won the Conn Smythe trophy as the NHL's top playoff performer in 2007. He won the Norris Trophy as the league's best defenseman in 2003-04.

      The former Kamloops Blazers standout was the third overall selection in the 1991 NHL draft and went on to play 1263 regular season games with New Jersey and Anaheim and suited up for 202 more in the post-season. He is currently an assistant coach with the Anaheim Ducks.

      Jeremy Roenick and Eric Lindros were among those eligible who did not gain the necessary votes for induction in the Hall of Fame in Toronto.

      Jeff Paterson is a talk-show host on Vancouver’s all-sports radio Team 1040. Follow him on Twitter at @patersonjeff.