Pride Legacy Awards 2013 nominees announced

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      This year, the first-ever Pride Legacy Awards will be held to honour individuals who have contributed significant efforts towards Vancouver's queer communities.

      Eight awards have been created, each one representing a colour of the rainbow flag.

      An awards ceremony will be held at the Imperial (319 Main Street) from 6 to 10 p.m. on July 20. (For tickets, click here.)

      Some of Vancouver's most selfless, devoted, and hardworking individuals have been nominated.

      And the nominees are…

      Pink: Sexuality (Sexual Health)

      This award recognizes an individual devoted to the promotion of sexual health. 

      • Perry Boldt
      Sr. Merry Q. Contrary
      • Bradford McIntyre

      Red: Life (Lifetime Achievement)

      This award will be given to an extraordinary individual who has dedicated a minimum of 10 years of volunteer service to one or more organizations that promotes the Vancouver Pride Society's core values.

      • Shawn Ewing
      • Jim DeYoung
      • Becki Ross

      Orange: Healing (Sports)

      This award will go to an individual whose work in sports has enriched the local LGBT community.

      • Jag Bilkhu
      • Meg Walls
      • Peter Diniz

      Yellow: Sunlight (Community Superstar)

      This award will be won by an individual whose work has elevated the profile and prominence of Vancouver's LGBT community.

      • Jaylene McRae (Jaylene Tyme)
      Barb Snelgrove
      • Joe Nim Cho Leung

      Green: Environment (Safe spaces)

      This award recognizes an individual whose work has promoted safer spaces in schools, communities, and celebrations.

      Jen Sung
      • Maria Foster
      • Sylvia Machat

      Turquoise: Art (Art)

      This award recognizes a queer artist whose work has created dialogue around a key social issue in Vancouver's LGBT community.

      • Karen White
      • Joe Average
      • Shaira Holman

      Blue: Harmony (Community Leaders)

      This award will honour an individual who has volunteered as a board member to create change in Vancouver's LGBT Community.

      • Valerie Nicholson
      Dean Malone
      • Craig Mayard

      Purple: Spirit (Youth)

      This award recognizes an outstanding youth who embodies the spirit of pride.

      • Andrea Pothiboon
      • Jen Sung
      Cory Oskam