B.C. Restaurant Hall of Fame announces 2018 inductees

    1 of 2 2 of 2

      The latest inductees to the B.C. Restaurant Hall of Fame were announced today (August 24).

      Inductees were named in six categories.

      In the Active Restaurateur Category, Robert Belcham of Campagnolo, Campagnolo Roma, Monarch Burger, and Popina Canteen, in addition to Chris Mills and Geoff Boyd of the Joey Restaurant Group were named.

      In the Pioneer Category, which honours retired industry leaders for their career-spanning contributions, are Nick and Pauline Felicella of Nick’s Spaghetti House.

      Andrea Carlson of Burdock and Co. and Harvest Community Foods has been named Local Champion to recognize dedication to supporting B.C. food and drink.  

      For exceptional professionalism and devotion to customer experience, the Pear Tree Restaurant manager Stephanie Jaeger will receive the Industry Award.

      Sequoia Company of Restaurants vice-president of operations and human resources Eva Gates is named as the Leading Employer, which recognizes leaders in increasing the visibility and profile of restaurant careers and creating welcoming workplaces that treat employees with respect and offers opportunities for growth.

      Elysian Projects president Sandra Oldfield is named in the Friend of the Industry Category for providing exceptional support to the restaurant industry.

      Les Amis du Fromage co-owner Allison Spurrell will receive the Supplier Award for significant contributions to B.C. hospitality.

      Campagnolo owner Robert Belcham

      The B.C. Hall of Fame's 13th annual black-tie induction gala, including a reception presented by the Keg Steakhouse and Bar and Gordon Food Service, will be held at the Italian Cultural Centre on October 1. Partial proceeds will be donated to the B.C. Hospitality Foundation. Tickets are $199 and full details are available at the B.C. Restaurant Hall of Fame and B.C. Restaurant and Food Services Association websites.  

      Previous inductees have included Nat Bailey, David Hawksworth, Anthony Gismondi, James Barber, John Bishop, Umberto Menghi, Vikram Vij, Hy and David Aisensgtat, and Warren Erhart.