Out of record number of 15 LGBT candidates in B.C. election, 5 B.C. NDP incumbents reelected

    1 of 4 2 of 4

      A record number of 15 openly LGBT B.C. candidates ran in this year's provincial election.

      The five candidates who won in their ridings were all B.C. NDP incumbents. The B.C. NDP had the largest number of LGBT candidates with nine, followed by four B.C. Green Party candidates, and two B.C. Liberals.

      B.C. NDP's Spencer Chandra Herbert won 61.28 percent (12,195 out of 20,211 votes) of the votes in Vancouver–West End. He defeated another openly gay candidate, B.C. Liberal Party's Nigel Elliott (23.03 percent of votes, or 4,583 votes) who had the second most votes.

      Mabel Elmore

      B.C. NDP Mabel Elmore was reelected in Vancouver-Kensington with 54.87 percent of the votes (10,916 out of 21,005 votes).

      Mike Farnworth

      B.C. NDP Mike Farnworth was also reelected in Port Coquitlam, winning with 55.46 percent of votes (12,937 out of 25,528 votes).

      Nicholas Simons

      Outside of Metro Vancouver, B.C. NDP's Nicholas Simons was reelected in Powell River–Sunshine Coast with 50.75 percent of the votes (11,846 out of 22,356 votes) and B.C. NDP's Jennifer Rice was also reelected in the North Coast with 57.54 percent (4,998 out of 25,068 votes).

      NDP Morgane Oger, who would have become the first transgender woman elected to the B.C. legislature if she won, lost to Sam Sullivan in Vancouver–False Creek.

      Oger was a political newcomer to the election, who had a hate campaign launched against her when anti-transgender flyers were distributed in her riding. All parties denounced the discriminatory act.

      Despite all of this, Oger started off with an early lead against Sullivan. In the end, the results were close—Oger wound up with 40 percent of the votes (8,772 out of 26,024 votes) while Sullivan garnered 42.57 percent (or 9,332 votes).  

      Other NDP losses included Sue Powell (Parksville-Qualicum), Gerry Taft (Columbia River–Revelstoke), and Stephanie Goudie (Peace River South).

      In addition to the previously mentioned Elliott, the B.C. Liberals' Stacey Piercey lost in Victoria–Swan Lake.

      Green Party's Jennifer Holmes (Abbotsford-Mission), Ian Soutar (Coquitlam–Burke Mountain), Nicola Spurling (Coquitlam-Maillardville), and Veronica Laurel Greer (Surrey-Panorama) all lost in their ridings.