It's a tie for best Canadian feature at the 2017 Whistler Film Festival

    1 of 7 2 of 7

      Two films shared the best Canadian feature award at the 17th annual Whistler Film Festival.

      At the WFF awards ceremony on the final day of the festival (December 3), Ian Lagarde's debut feature All You Can Eat Buddha and Jason and Carlos Sanchez's suspense drama A Worthy Companion were both named as winners of the Borsos Competition for Best Canadian Feature Film, which includes a $15,000 cash prize and $15,000 post-production prize.

      The films were chosen from a list of 20 eligible features, and the jury for the award was comprised of producer Sylvain Corbeil (Mommy), B.C. actor Camille Sullivan (The Birdwatcher), and filmmaker Charles Officer (Nurse.Fighter.Boy).   

      Lagarde went on to win the Best Borsos Director Award for his French-language feature about what happens when an insatiably hungry man who seems to be able to perform miracles arrives at an all-inclusive Caribbean resort.

      A Worthy Companion

      Meanwhile, A Worthy Companion went on to collect two other awards. Evan Rachel Wood, who plays an emotionally unstable 30-year-old woman who develops a relationship with a 16-year-old female runaway, won the best performance award while the film's director of photography, Sara Mishara, was named best cinematographer. Cinematographer Nicolas Bolduc received honorable mention in the latter category for Hochelaga, Land of Souls

      Screenwriter and co-director Grayson Moore won the award for best screenplay for the psychological drama Cardinals.


      The World Documentary Award went to Kate Novack's documentary about former Vogue editor André Leon Talley, The Gospel According to André, with honorable mention going to Alan Zweig's Inuit documentary There is a House Here.

      Depth Perception, by Chip Taylor and Chris Murphy, received the Best Mountain Culture Film Award. The jury noted that the film managed "to transport the judges to a place of imagination just outside of realism but stayed grounded in themes of the sport, environmentalism, and spiritualism.”


      Eisha Marjara's Venus, about a woman in transition, won the EDA Award for Best Female-Directed Feature while Sharren Lee's "The Things You Think I'm Thinking" received the equivalent award in the short film category.

      A special EDA jury award went to Kyra Sedgwick for her directorial debut A Story of a Girl.

      Story of a Girl

      Chandler Levack's debut short film "We Forgot to Break Up" won the $1,000 Canadian Short Work Award while Natalie Murao's "Floating Light" was named for the $500 Short Work Student Award.

      Veronika Kurz's "20 Minutes to Life" collected the MPPIA Short Film Award, which includes a $15,000 cash prize and up to $100,000 in services. The completed project will premiere at WFF 2108.

      David Darg's "Fear Us Women", a short documentary about women on the battlefront in Syria, received the International Short Work Award.

      This year's edition of the festival ran from November 28 to December 3.

      You can follow Craig Takeuchi on Twitter at @cinecraig or on Facebook