Married two-spirit couple from Alberta wins Amazing Race Canada's Season 7

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      A third LGBT couple has won a season of The Amazing Race Canada.

      After a journey that covered six provinces, one territory, 14 cities, and over 20,000 kilometres, two-spirit married couple Anthony Johnson, a 33-year-old project consultant, and James Makokis, a 37-year-old doctor, from amiskwaciy-wâskahikan (Edmonton, Alberta), Treaty Number Six Territory, were the first to cross the finish line in Port Sydney, Ontario, in the September 10 episode.   

      As winners of Season 7 of The Amazing Race Canada, the pair will receive two 2019 Chevrolet Blazers, a trip for two around the world, and $250,000 cash.

      "We're sharing this stage with all of those people who helped us along the way—our communities, our elders, our family members —and we wouldn't be here if it wasn't for them," the dynamic duo stated in a news release.

      They managed to beat Team Canada track athletes 29-year-old Sarah Wells and 30-year-old Sam Effah from Toronto who came second and 27-year-old teacher Lauren and 21-year-old yoga instructor Joanne Lavoie from Regina, the first team on the series from Saskatchewan.

      Vancouver couple Aarthy Ketheeswaran, 25, and software developer Thinesh Kumarakulasingam, 28, were unfortunately eliminated on August 27.

      Sadly, there has been recent tragic news from B.C. as a former ARC contestant, 28-year-old Kenneth McAlpine from Rossland, B.C., was found dead after falling during a hike on Mount Gimli in B.C. on August 27. He had competed on Season 5 with his friend Ryan Lachapelle.

      A British Columbian team has not yet won any season of the show. However, there will be future opportunities as CTV announced on September 11 that the series has been renewed for Season 8, which will be broadcast in 2020.

      Meanwhile, Johnson and Makokis join two other LGBT teams who have won first place on the series.

      In Season 4, female dating couple Steph LeClair and Kristen McKenzie from Toronto won, becoming the first female team to win on the show.  

      Their triumph was followed by gay male couple Sam Lambert and Paul Mitskopoulos of Toronto winning Season 5.

      CTV stated in a news release that casting details for Season 8 will be announced soon.

      You can follow Craig Takeuchi on Twitter at @cinecraig or on Facebook. You can also follow the Straight's LGBT coverage on Twitter at @StraightLGBT or on Facebook.