Canada's Walk of Fame 2016 inductees include Corey Hart, Deepa Mehta, Vancouver's Jason Priestley

    1 of 4 2 of 4

      Six Canadians were honoured in an induction ceremony held at Canada's Walk of Fame in Toronto on October 6.

      The inductees, chosen from the worlds of TV and film, music, and sports, are: actor-director Jason Priestley, filmmaker Deepa Mehta, actor-director Al Waxman, fashion journalist Jeanne Beker, and NHLer Darryl Sitter.

      North Vancouver-raised actor-director Jason Priestley rose to fame on the TV series Beverly Hills, 90210. He also starred on the Canadian TV series Call Me Fitz and made his feature film directorial debut with the 2013 dramdy Cas & Dylan.

      Indian-born, Toronto-based filmmaker Deepa Mehta shot the Elements Trilogy consisting of the feature films Fire (1996), Earth (1998), and Water (2005), which was nominated for an Academy Award. More recently in 2015, she wrote and directed the crime-thriller Beeba Boys about Indo-Canadian gangsters in Vancouver.

      Filmmaker Deepa Mehta

      The late stage and screen actor and director Al Waxman is best known for his roles on the TV series Kings of Kensington on CBC and Cagney & Lacey on CBS.

      Television personality and fashion journalist Jeanne Beker hosted FashionTelevision from 1985 to 2012 and has launched her own clothing lines as well.

      Canadian pop star Corey Hart

      Montreal-born pop star Corey Hart racked up 30 Top 40 hits, with singles like "Sunglasses at Night", "Never Surrender", "Can't Help Falling in Love", and "Everything in My Heart".

      Retired professional hockey player Darryl Sittler is also in the NHL Hall of Fame. He played in the National Hockey League from 1970 to 1985 for the Toronto Maple Leafs (and served as their team captain), the Philadelphia Flyers, and the Detroit Red Wings. 

      You can follow Craig Takeuchi on Twitter at @cinecraig or on Facebook