Canadian Screen Award nominees from B.C. include Hello Destroyer, Kim's Convenience, and more

    1 of 8 2 of 8

      The nominees for the Canadian Screen Awards were announced on January 17, and British Columbians working in film, TV, and digital media were up there with the best of them.

      Overall, there were leading contenders in both the film and TV categories that had stiff competition.

      Xavier Dolan's It's Only the End of the World (Juste la fin du monde), which is Canada's entry for the best foreign language Oscar award, is leading the film categories with nine nominations.

      The sports biopic Race, about African American athlete Jesse Owens, followed closely behind with eight.

      Meanwhile, on the home screen side of things, the sci-fi TV series Orphan Black received 14 nominations while CBC comedies followed closely behind: Schitt's Creek garnered 13 while Kim's Convenience collected 11.


      Among the numerous Vancouver and B.C. nominations, here are just some of the highlights.

      Feature films

      Hello Destroyer was nominated for best motion picture (produced by Daniel Domachowski and Haydn Wazelle), best direction (Kevan Funk), best original screenplay (Funk), and best actor (Jared Abrahamson).

      The Chinese drama Old Stone, directed by Vancouver-rasied Johnny Ma, is up for best motion picture.

      North Vancouver's Molly Parker was nominated for best actress for her role in Bruce McDonald's Weirdos.

      Documentarian Nettie Wild

      Nettie Wild and Betsy Carson's KONELINE: our land beautiful were nominated for best feature-length documentary. Michael Brockington was also nominated for best documentary editing for the same film.

      The Unseen was nominated for best sound editing as well as best visual effects.


      Adrian Holmes was nominated best actor in a lead drama series role for his portrayal of Montreal beat cop Nick Barron in 19-2.

      Louis Ferreira was nominated for best actor in a drama series for his role as detective Oscar Vega in Motive

      Carmen Moore was nominated for best actress in a lead drama series role for her role as Leona Stoney on the First Nations drama series Blackstone. Blackstone's Julian Black Antelope also received a nomination for best performance in a guest role on a dramatic series.

      Craig Takeuchi

      Andrea Bang was nominated for best actress in a comedy series for her role as Janet on Kim's Convenience.

      Meanwhile, executive producers Tim Gamble and Alexandra Raffé were named in the nomination of Kim's Convenience for best comedy series.

      Langley producer Ben Lu was named in Blood and Water's nomination for best dramatic TV series.

      Lauren Lee Smith (of Cultus Lake) was nominated for best actress in a featured supporting role in a dramatic program or series for This Life

      Helen Slinger and Maureen Palmer were named in the nomination for CBC's Wasted, a documentary about addiction, in the best documentary program category.

      Paperny Entertainment president David Paperny was one of several Vancouver names listed in the best factual program or series nomination for CBC's This is High School, which documented life inside South Kamloops Secondary School. Editor Sarah Cruise was also nominated for best picture editing in a factual program or series.

      Cinematographer Brendan Uegama was nominated for best photography in a dramatic program or series for his work on the Vancouver-shot The Romeo Section. The CBC series' composer Schaun Tozer also received a nomination in the best original music score for a series category.

      Best original score nominations included Britannia Beach musician Jesse Zubot for Two Lovers and a Bear, Alain Mayrand for Numb, and Taymaz Saba for Ann Marie Fleming's animated feature Window Horses: The Poetic Persian Epiphany of Rosie Ming.


      In the news categories, numerous names from Metro Vancouver made the cut.  

      CBC's Andrew Chang

      Best local news anchor nominations include CBC Vancouver News at Six's Andrew Chang, and Global BC's Chris Galius and Sophie Lui.

      Global National's Dawna Friesen, Tristan Staddon, and Leslie Stojsic are up for best national reportage as well as best national newscast (with Doriana Temolo).

      Another competitor in the same category is CBC News Network with Ian Hanomansing. Hanomansing was also nominated for best national news anchor.

      CBC Vancouver News at Six is up for best local reportage, with Yvette Brend, Karen Burgess, and Natalie Clancy named in the nomination. Global BC's Jill Krop, John Hua, and Doug Sydora are also nominated in the same category.

      For best sports analyst, Ray Ferraro is up for 2016 IIHF Wolrd Hockey Championship Gold Medal Game and Glen Suitor is up for the 2015 Grey Cup.

      Howie Mandel

      The full list of nominees, which includes numerous others from Vancouver and B.C., is available at the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television website.

      The awards, hosted by Howie Mandel, will be broadcast on CBC at 8 p.m. on March 12.

      You can follow Craig Takeuchi on Twitter at @cinecraig or on Facebook