Eric Young and Kendall Ryan win Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix men's and women's races

    1 of 3 2 of 3

      It's a threepeat.

      Rally Cycling member Eric Young has become the second man in history to win three straight Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix races.

      The Colorado native's blistering final lap on the cobblestone streets of Vancouver's oldest neighbourhood left second- and third-place finishers Florenz Knauer of Germany and Emile Jean of Canada a fair distance behind.

      The only male racer to win three in a row in Gastown was former Canadian Olympian Ron Hayman, who accomplished this feat from 1981 to 1983. Verna Buhler won the women's race three times in a row over the same years.

      Colorado resident Eric Young has become the second man to win three consecutive Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix races.

      The Gastown Grand Prix is one of the most popular events during B.C. Superweek, bringing out more than 20,000 spectators.

      The tight turns make it far more challenging than conventional road races.

      The winner of the women's race was American Kendall Ryan, who's a member of Team TIVCO-Silicon Valley Bank.

      She edged Canada's Sara Bergen in a photo finish, with Canadian Marie-Soleil Blais coming third.

      Watch the finish of the Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix women's race last night.

      The most famous winner of the Gastown cycling race was a young Lance Armstrong in 1991. The American cyclist later went on to win seven Tour de France titles.

      Armstrong was subsequently stripped of these honours after being exposed as being part of a doping conspiracy.