Liberal deputy leader Ralph Goodale and Conservative deputy leader Lisa Raitt both defeated

    1 of 2 2 of 2

      Two of Canada's best-known national politicians won't be returning to Parliament.

      Deputy Liberal leader Ralph Goodale and Deputy Conservative Leader Lisa Raitt were both defeated in their ridings.

      "There will be new challenges to face in the weeks and months and years ahead," Goodale said.

      Conservative Michael Kram soundly defeated Goodale in Regina-Wescana.

      Goodale was first elected to Parliament in 1974. Goodale is the minister of public safety minister and emergency preparedness and the only Liberal to serve in governments led by Pierre Trudeau and Justin Trudeau.

      Ralph Goodale attended the Vancouver Vaisakhi parade in 2012.
      Charlie Smith

      Deputy Conservative leader Lisa Raitt lost her seat in the Ontario riding of Milton to Olympic gold medallist Adam van Koeverden.

      Raitt held the transport, labour, and natural resources portfolios in governments led by Stephen Harper. 

      "Tonight is for thanking Miltonians for 11 years," Raitt told CBC.