Vancouver-area MPs Jonathan Wilkinson, Carla Qualtrough, Harjit Sajjan, and Joyce Murray back in Trudeau cabinet

    1 of 5 2 of 5

      Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has kept four of his Metro Vancouver MPs in cabinet.

      Former fisheries, oceans, and Coast Guard minister Jonathan Wilkinson, who represents North Vancouver, is now the minister of environment and climate change.

      Carla Qualtrough, the MP for Delta, is now minister of employment, workforce development and disability inclusion. She was previously in charge of the public service.

      Harjit Sajjan, the MP for Vancouver South, remains the minister of national defence.

      He's currently the third longest-lasting person in this portfolio, ranking only behind former Conservative Peter MacKay and former Liberal MP Bill Graham. 

      Joyce Murray was president of the treasury board and minister of digital government. The Vancouver Quadra MP is now the minister for digital government.

      The president of the treasury board is now Jean-Yves Duclos, who used to head social development and oversaw the housing file.

      Carla Qualtrough is the minister of employment, workforce development and disability inclusion.

      This Liberal cabinet will be without Ralph Goodale, the former minister of public safety and emergency preparedness who lost his bid for reelection in Regina.

      Goodale's position is now filled by former Toronto police chief Bill Blair.

      The former minister of natural resources, Amarjeet Sohi, lost his Edmonton-area seat in the October 21 election.

      This post has gone to former CTV broadcaster Seamus O'Regan, who formerly oversaw Indigenous services.

      Chrystia Freeland becomes deputy prime minister and minister of intergovernmental affairs.

      François-Philippe Champagne has been promoted to minister of foreign affairs, taking over Freeland's former post.

      Champagne, MP for Saint-Maurice–Champlain, was formerly the minister of infrastructure and communities.

      Steven Guilbeault (centre) is the new minister of Canadian Heritage, which puts him in charge of arts and culture, as well as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

      Seven new ministers appointed

      There are no new ministers from British Columbia, but the following new cabinet members were appointed from other provinces:

      * Marco Mendicino as minister of immigration, refugees, and citizenship;

      * Steven Guilbeault as minister of Canadian heritage;

      * Marc Miller as minister of Indigenous services;

      * Deb Schulte, as minister of seniors;

      * Dan Vandal as minister of northern affairs;

      * Anita Anand as minister of public services and procurement;

      * and Mona Fortier, as minister of middle class prosperity and associate minister of finance.

      Video: Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Minister Marco Mendicino is an exceptionally talented pianist.

      Jim Carr, formerly minister of international trade diversification, is the prime minister's special representative to the Prairies. Carr recently disclosed that he has cancer.

      Patty Hajdu is the new health minister.

      Ahmed Hussen, the former immigration minister, is now the minister families, children, and social development. This puts him in charge of the housing file.

      Pablo Rodriguez, formerly in charge of Canadian heritage, is government house leader.

      Mélanie Joly is minister of economic development and official languages.

      Fisheries, oceans, and the Canadian Coast Guard is now the responsibility of Bernadette Jordan.

      The former government house leader, Bardish Chaggar, is now minister of diversity and inclusion and youth.

      Carolyn Bennett continues as minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Marie-Claude Bibeau continues as minister of agriculture and agri-food.

      Five other ministers keeping their portfolios are Bill Morneau in finance; Marc Garneau in transport; David Lametti as justice minister and attorney general; Navdeep Bains as minister of innovation, science, and industry; and Lawrence MacAuley as minister of veterans affairs and associate minister of national defence.

      Mary Ng is the minister of small business, export promotion, and international trade. She had a similar portfolio before the election, though international trade is a new responsibility for her.

      Mary Ng is back in cabinet, this time with the added responsibility of international trade.

      Catherine McKenna, the former environment minister, is minister of infrastructure and communities.

      Maryam Monsef is miinister of women and gender equality and rural economic development.

      Filomena Tassi is the minister of labour. She was previously the minister for seniors.

      Karina Gould is the new minister of international development.

      Dominic LeBlanc is president of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada.