Liberal juggernaut rolls across Metro Vancouver whereas NDP reigns on Vancouver Island

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      (Editor's note: After this article was posted, New Democrat Kennedy Stewart was declared the winner in Burnaby South. B.C. ended up electing 17 Liberals, 14 New Democrats, 10 Conservatives, and one Green.)

      There's will be a new cast of MPs across the Lower Mainland, including a whole lot of Liberals.

      Four of Vancouver's six ridings have voted Liberal, along with ridings in Richmond, the North Shore, Burnaby, the Tri-Cities, Delta, Surrey, and even in the heart of the Bible Belt in Langley.

      Liberals Jody Wilson-Raybould and Harjit Sajjan were elected in Vancouver Granville and Vancouver South respectively.

      They will join the Liberal veterans Hedy Fry and Joyce Murray, who were reelected in Vancouver Centre and Vancouver Quadra.

      The NDP's Don Davies held Vancouver Kingsway and Jenny Kwan cruised to victory in her first federal campaign in Vancouver East.

      A red tide rolled across the North Shore as Pamela Goldsmith-Jones and Jonathan Wilkinson were elected.

      Liberal Terry Beech pulled off a surprising victory in Burnaby North-Seymour.

      Another Liberal, Adam Pankratz, has a slim lead over the NDP's Kennedy Stewart in Burnaby South. 

      The NDP's Peter Julian and Fin Donnelly held their seats in New Westminster-Burnaby and Port Moody-Coquitlam, respectively.

      Richmond Centre remains a close race with Conservative incumbent Alice Wong hanging onto a slim lead over Liberal Lawrence Woo.

      Liberal Joe Peschisolido won in Steveston-Richmond East.

      Fellow Liberal Carla Qualtrough defeated Conservative cabinet minister Kerry-Lynne Findlay in Delta.

      Surrey also saw surprising Liberal strength, with Randeep Sarai, Ken Hardie, and Sukh Dhaliwal winning seats in Surrey Centre, Fleetwood-Port Kells, and Surrey-Newton, respectively.

      Liberal John Aldag is winning in Cloverdale-Langley City. Former Surrey mayor Dianne Watts has a lead as the Conservative candidate in South Surrey-White Rock.

      Liberal Ron McKinnon has captured Coquitlam-Port Coquitlam and another Liberal, Dan Ruimy, has won in Pitt Meadows-Maple Ridge.

      In what appears to be another Liberal breakthrough, Liberal candidate Jati Sidhu is leading in Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Valley.

      The Liberals have won or are leading in 18 of B.C.'s 42 ridings. The NDP captured all the seats on Vancouver Island except for Saanich-Gulf Islands, where Elizabeth May was easily re-elected.