2016 City of Vancouver Awards of Excellence honour Pacific Immigrant Resources Society, Megaphone magazine, and more

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      The 2016 City of Vancouver Awards of Excellence winners were presented to individuals and organizations on July 5.

      The event was hosted by Mayor Gregor Robertson and Vancouver city council, and honoured citizens for their commitment to improving the city.

      The Civic Merit Award went to two individuals: homeless advocate, Lookout Emergency Aid Society founder, and Metro Vancouver's Regional Steering Committee on Homelessness member Karen O'Shannacery and low-income advocate and Strathcona Community Centre recreation programmer Ron Suzuki.

      For more details about the award winners, visit the City of Vancouver website.

      Mayor's Achievement Award

      The Mayor's Achievement Award recognizes remarkable dedication and significant contributions towards improving the quality of life for the citizens of Vancouver. The recipients of this award are selected personally by Mayor Gregor Robertson.

      Organization: Tradeworks Training Society

      Individual: Janine Fuller

      Youth: Austin Wang

      Accessible City

      The Accessible City Award honours outstanding leadership to enhance accessibility, inclusion, and elimination of barriers to full participation for persons with disabilities.

      Organization: Centre for Accessible Post-secondary Education Resources BC (CAPER-BC)

      Individual: Peggy Assinck

      Youth: Sarah Fletcher

      Civic Volunteer

      The Civic Volunteer Award recognizes outstanding volunteer contributions to a City of Vancouver Board or Committee, or to an organization that receives City funding.

      Organization: Vancouver Emergency Communications Telecommunications Organization (VECTOR)

      Individual: Rob Haynes

      Youth: Nicole Hou

      Diversity and Inclusion

      The Diversity and Inclusion Award celebrates outstanding leadership to foster inclusion across diverse communities.

      Organization: Pacific Immigrant Resources Society (PIRS)

      Individual: David Ng

      Youth: Golsa Golestaneh

      Greenest City Leadership

      The Greenest City Leadership Award recognizes individuals or groups who enhance or advance the City's Greenest City Action Plan goals.

      Organization: Trout Lake Youth Council

      Individual: Doug Wilson

      Youth: Kimberley Wong

      Healthy City for All

      The Healthy City for All Award pays tribute to outstanding leadership, by an individual or organization, in working towards creating a healthier city.

      Organization: Megaphone Magazine

      Individual: Chris Taulu

      Youth: Jan Lim

      You can follow Craig Takeuchi on Twitter at twitter.com/cinecraig or on Facebook