Majority of prestigious 2016's Order of B.C. recipients are Lower Mainlanders

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Sixteen citizens will be appointed to the Order of British Columbia next Friday (July 29). Considered the highest form of recognition from the province, the ceremony will be held at Government House in Victoria.

      Thirteen of this year’s recipients, announced by Lieutenant-Governor Judith Guichon, hail from the Lower Mainland.

      The recipients from Vancouver include: YWCA CEO Janet Austin, Terry Fox laboratory founder and director Dr. Allen Eaves, entrepreneur and philanthropist Frank Giustra, Spirt of the West co-founder John Mann, sexual health educator Saleema Noon, landscape architect Cornelia Hahn Oberlander, celebrity radio host Robert “Red” Robinson, sports legend David Sidoo, community leader Dr. Peter K.K. Wong, and liver disease expert Dr. Eric M. Yoshida.

      Other Lower Mainland recipients include international diving coach Beverly Boys from Surrey; B.C. treaty process leader Kim Baird from Tsawwassen; and the founder of the first aboriginal service agencies in Canada, Marjorie White of New Westminster.

      Premier Christy Clark offered this year’s recipients early congratulations, stating in a press release that “British Columbia’s greatest strength is British Columbians—people who use their talents and passions to make a difference both here at home and, in many cases, around the world.”

      The recipients, selected by an independent advisory committee chaired by chief justice Robert J. Bauman, will join the prestigious list alongside the 402 British Columbians previously appointed.