TransLink Minister Peter Fassbender defeated in Surrey-Fleetwood

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      One of the most controversial cabinet ministers in the Christy Clark government has lost his seat.

      Peter Fassbender has been beaten by the NDP's Jagrup Brar, who has 52.2 percent of the vote with 61 of 86 ballot boxes reported.

      Fassbender was the B.C. government education minister during the teachers strike.

      Another Surrey cabinet minister, Amrik Virk, is trailing the NDP's Garry Begg, a former RCMP superintendent, in Surrey-Guildford.

      Surrey-Whalley NDP candidate Bruce Ralston was reelected, as was the NDP's Harry Bains in Surrey-Newton. NDP newcomers Rachna Singh and Ravi Kahlon look like they're going to win in Surrey–Green Timbers and Delta North, respectively.

      B.C. Liberal Tracy Redies has a large lead in Surrey–White Rock and cabinet minister Stephanie Cadieux is cruising to victory in Surrey South.

      In other Metro Vancouver races, the NDP's Selina Robinson defeated the B.C. Liberals' Steve Kim for the second consecutive time in Coquitlam-Maillardville.

      Port Coquitlam reelected the NDP's Mike Farnworth. B.C. Liberal Ian Paton won Delta South. And the NDP's Judy Darcy has been reelected in New Westminster.