Green caucus will likely hold the balance of power in B.C. legislature

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Votes are still being counted and the absentee ballots haven't been tabulated.

      But it still looks like B.C. will have its first minority government in 65 years.

      As things stand now, it looks like three B.C. Green MLAs will hold the balance of power in the legislature.

      Party leader Andrew Weaver will be joined by Sonia Furstenau (Cowichan Valley) and Adam Olsen (North Saanich and the Islands).

      The B.C. Liberals are leading in 43 constituencies and the NDP is winning or leading in 41 seats.

      With 89 of 93 ballot boxes reporting, Sam Sullivan has moved ahead of Morgan Oger in Vancouver-False Creek.

      Oger is trying to become the first transsexual woman to be elected as an MLA.

      Two of the new Green seats were held by the NDP before the legislature was dissolved.

      An internecine rivalry among New Democrats in Cowichan Valley may have proven pivotal in their defeat in that constituency.