Steve Thomson resigns as speaker of the B.C. legislature

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Kelowna-Mission MLA Steve Thomson has hung up his gown.

      "Please be advised that Steve Thomson, MLA, has tendered his resignation as Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia to Her Honour the Honourable Judith Guichon, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia," says a terse statement from the Office of the Speaker.

      Thomson presided over today's nonconfidence motion in the B.C. legislature, which brought down the Christy Clark government.

      Thomson will go back to being a member of the B.C. Liberal caucus, which has 43 MLAs in the 87-member legislature.

      There are 41 NDP MLAs and three B.C. Green MLAs.