COPE nominates its slate of candidates for 2022 Vancouver election

    1 of 3 2 of 3

      To no one's surprise, COPE's only councillor, Jean Swanson, will be among the party's candidates in the upcoming Vancouver election.

      She's among nine COPE candidates who were nominated on Sunday (April 10).

      Swanson will be joined by three other COPE standard-bearers for council: Métis lawyer and two-time NDP federal candidate Breen Oullette, human-rights activist and former immigration consultant Nancy Trigueros, and Dene-German community organizer and AIDS Vancouver Indigenous health-promotion case manager Tanya Webking.

      Suzie Mah and Rocco Trigueros hope to join the Vancouver school board after the October election.

      COPE has nominated two candidates for school board: former teachers-union activist Suzie Mah and former City of Vancouver Latin youth worker and LGBT+ activist Rocco Trigueros. COPE's only incumbent on school board, Barb Parrott, is not seeking reelection.

      COPE park-board incumbent Gwen Giesbrecht will be joined on the slate by PhD law student Maira Hassan and and Nisga'a member and Western Aboriginal Harm Reduction Society founder Chris Livingstone.

      John Irwin, who was elected to park board on the COPE slate in 2018, quit the party earlier this year and joined Vision Vancouver.

      COPE's three park candidates are Gwen Giesbrecht, Maira Hassan, and Chris Livingstone.