Jody Wilson-Raybould reelected as regional chief for B.C. Assembly of First Nations

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Jody Wilson-Raybould has easily won reelection as regional chief for the B.C. Assembly of First Nations.

      Wilson-Raybould, who is also known as Puglaas, was victorious on the first ballot, capturing 126 of 162 votes, or 78 percent.

      Shana Manson garnered 25 votes, or 15 percent, and Marjorie McRae received 11 votes, or seven percent, at the B.C. AFN's annual general meeting today (November 27) in Vancouver.

      "I am very honoured and humbled that the Chiefs have re-confirmed with such strength the work of the BCAFN and the Building on OUR Success Action Plan," Wilson-Raybould said in a news release.

      "For our region this is especially powerful because it says to other regions of the AFN and to Canada and the Province that we are unified in our resolve to implement our Aboriginal title and rights, including treaty rights, and that we have as Nations been developing our own solutions and will continue to support each other in this work."

      Wilson-Raybould, a council member for We Wai Kai Nation and former member of the B.C. Treaty Commission, succeeded Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, who is now the AFN’s national chief, as regional chief in 2009.

      You can follow Stephen Hui on Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest.




      Nov 27, 2012 at 5:07pm

      I hope this Lady eventually becomes Chief of the AFN. She is pretty amazing as she should be having as her father the powerful leader Chief Bill Wilson.

      gord hill

      Nov 27, 2012 at 7:28pm

      The AFN and its regional counterparts are largely irrelevant to native peoples across the country. it is a club for the band council chiefs and aboriginal business elites who jockey for positions of power and money in their relations with government and business. "This lady" will not change the neo-colonial role of the AFN.


      Nov 27, 2012 at 9:07pm

      Well done, she is well deserving and well qualified. She is the best of all of Canada.