Michael Bublé, Carole Taylor among 13 recipients of Order of British Columbia in 2020

    1 of 2 2 of 2

      This year’s Order of British Columbia honourees hail from diverse locations across the province and span fields from arts and culture to multiculturalism and families to economics and environmentalism.

      B.C. Lt. Gov. Janet Austin announced on August 3 that 13 individuals were appointed to the Order of British Columbia.

      An independent advisory council chose the recipients from 160 nominations, which were submitted by March.

      "They have helped us to grow as a province, taught us to care for our environment, enriched our lives with literature and art, helped us to address past injustices and inspired us to become a more caring and inclusive society,” Lt. Gov. Austin stated in a news release.

      Carole Taylor

      This year's recipients are:

      Shashi Assanand of Richmond, founder of the Multicultural Family Support Service Society;

      Ryan Beedie of West Vancouver, of the market’s leading industrial developer in western Canada, Beedie Development;

      Michael Bublé of Burnaby, one of world’s most successful singer-songwriters;

      Shirley Chan of Vancouver, of Building Opportunities with Business Inner-City Society, Health Canada, the City of Vancouver; and more;

      Neil Cook, MGC, of Cranbrook, Cranbrook and District Community Foundation founder, foster parent, extensive volunteer, and more;

      Paul George of Gibsons, cofounder of the Western Canada Wilderness Committee;

      Rusty Goepel of Vancouver, cofounder of Goepel Shields and Partners and chair of Yellow Point Equity Partners;

      John Malcolm Horton of Delta, a marine artist whose paintings have been showcased across Canada, and a lifetime volunteer for marine safety;

      Mel Krajden, PhD, of Vancouver, medical director at the B.C. Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC) Public Health Laboratory;

      Janet Nadine Mort, PhD, of Brentwood Bay, literacy curriculum designer, author, organizer, speaker;

      Tracy Porteous of Vancouver, creator and executive director of Ending Violence Association of B.C. (EVA BC) and Ending Violence Association of Canada co-chair;

      Carole Taylor, OC, of Vancouver, former Vancouver city councillor, B.C. MLA and provincial finance minister, national Economic Advisory Council chair, and Simon Fraser University chancellor, and current Canada Chair for the Trilateral Commission and chancellor of Victoria University at the University of Toronto;

      Ruth Williams of Kamloops, founding member of the Urban Native Housing Society and advocate for health and well-being of Indigenous children and families.

      The Order of B.C. investiture ceremony will be postponed for 2020 due to COVID-19 restrictions and held for recipients and invited guests at Government House in Victoria in 2021.

      Since its inception, 460 British Columbians from all regions of the province have been appointed to the Order of B.C. The order has received over 5,900 nominations over the past 31 years.

      More about the Order of British Columbia is available at the B.C. government website.