Three school trustees abandon NPA caucus after this week's departure of three city councillors

The only remaining NPA caucus members are park commissioner and mayoral candidate John Coupar, park commissioner Tricia Barker, and Coun. Melissa De Genova

    1 of 2 2 of 2

      The NPA caucus has lost another key contingent—its three members on school board.

      Trustees Carmen Cho, Oliver Hanson, and Fraser Ballantyne are all sitting as independents for the balance of their terms.

      Their decision came in the wake of an earlier announcement this week that three NPA councillors—Lisa Dominato, Colleen Hardwick, and Sarah Kirby-Yung—had decided to quit caucus and sit as independents.

      They objected to the NPA board's decision to appoint park commissioner John Coupar as its mayoral candidate in 2022 rather than holding a competitive nomination race.

      A fourth councillor elected on the NPA slate, Rebecca Bligh, quit the caucus in 2019 after some right wingers were elected to the NPA board of directors.

      The only remaining NPA caucus members are its mayoral candidate—Coupar—along with fellow park commissioner Tricia Barker and Coun. Melissa De Genova.

      Meanwhile, the NPA's mayoral candidate in 2018, businessman Ken Sim, is hoping to head the ticket of a new party called A Better City.

      It will nominate its mayoral candidate this fall.

      All of those who quit the caucus were selected as candidates in 2018 by the NPA board after people were invited to submit applications.

      For more on this story, watch the video below.

      In this week's Georgia Straight Talks, editor Charlie Smith discusses the big story in Vancouver politics.