Transportation Minister Blair Lekstrom joins list of departing B.C. Liberal MLAs

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Transportation Minister Blair Lekstrom has joined the growing list of B.C. Liberal MLAs who will not seek relection next year.

      The MLA for Peace River South announced his intention not to run in the May 2013 provincial election late this afternoon.

      “I leave to pursue new opportunities in life and want to again thank Premier Clark for her support,” he said in a statement. “I know that she will continue to lead this province in a positive direction.”

      Earlier today, MLAs Joan McIntyre and Rob Howard announced they won’t be on the ballot next spring.

      Lekstrom has served as MLA for close to 12 years. He also previously served as minister of community development and as minister of energy, mines and petroleum development.

      With Lekstrom’s announcement, the list of departing B.C. Liberal MLAs has now grown to 13.

      Other high-profile caucus members who have recently announced they won’t be running in the May 2013 provincial election include former finance minister Kevin Falcon, Education Minister George Abbott, and Children and Family Development Minister Mary McNeil.




      Sep 4, 2012 at 7:39pm

      Good politicians are few and far between.

      You know - ethical, smart and loyal.

      No loss, these bozos are easily replaced and are a dime a dozen.

      They came, they filled their pockets with loot, and then bailed.

      A special thanks to Mr. TransLink, Blair Lekstrom for that gas tax - TransLink isn’t wasting a penny and has put it all to good use building its new office tower to house people who do nothing but push paper, aren’t needed and cost taxpayers $100 million annually.


      jonny .

      Sep 4, 2012 at 8:12pm