Two earthquakes shake Southern Alaska, including aftershock from 2018 quake

    1 of 2 2 of 2

      Southern Alaska got shaken by two earthquakes this morning (April 27), including an aftershock from a major seismic event that took place over two years ago.

      The first one hit at 9:26 a.m. Anchorage time (10:26 a.m. Vancouver time) at a shallow depth of eight kilometres (five miles).

      This one registered as 4.1-magnitude, according to the U.S. Geological Survey.

      The epicentre was located 38 kilometres (24 miles) northeast of Chenega, Alaska; 142 kilometres (88 miles) southeast of Eagle River, Alaska; and 148 kilometres (92 miles) southeast of Anchorage, Alaska.

      U.S. Geological Survey

      About half an hour later, a second quake hit at 9:54 a.m. Anchorage time (10:54 a.m. Vancouver time).

      This one was deeper—at a depth of 36 kilometres (22 miles)—but was larger in magnitude. The U.S. Geological Survey measured it as 4.9 while the Alaska Earthquake Centre listed it as 4.8-magnitude.

      The epicentre for this temblor was positioned three kilometres (two miles) south of Point MacKenzie, Alaska; 14 kilometres (nine miles) northwest of Anchorage; and 23 kilometres (14 miles) west of Eagle River.

      The Alaska Earthquake Centre stated that this quake, which was widely felt throughout the central area of Southern Alaska, was an aftershock from a 7.1-magnitude quake that took place in November 2018.

      No damage has been reported.

      In other recent earthquake news, a 4.1-magnitude quake struck off the coast of Oregon on April 26.

      Comments