Burnaby North–Seymour MP Terry Beech becomes parliamentary secretary to Chrystia Freeland

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has said in the past that B.C. in his blood, but only one of his 37 parliamentary secretaries represents a riding in Canada's westernmost province.

      Today, Trudeau unveiled this team of Liberal MPs who act as a link between cabinet ministers and Parliament.

      Terry Beech, the three-term MP for Burnaby North–Seymour, has become parliamentary secretary to Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland.

      “Since we first took office, our government has been focused on improving affordability and the cost of living," Beech said in a news release. "Prior to the pandemic, our government brought both the unemployment rate and poverty rate in Canada to their lowest levels in history.

      "As we continue our recovery from COVID-19 I look forward to working alongside the Honourable Chrystia Freeland as we build upon our position of fiscal strength and continue to shape an economy that works for all Canadians.”

      This is Beech's fifth posting as a parliamentary secretary.

      The position lifts Beech's annual salary over the $200,000 mark. That's because a parliamentary secretary receives an $18,100 annual stipend in addition to an MP's salary of $185,800.

      The prime minister is paid $371,600 per year along with a $2,000 car allowance.

      Cabinet ministers make $274,500 per year and also receive an annual $2,000 car allowance.

      Four B.C. MPs are in the Liberal cabinet: Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion Minister Carla Qualtrough, International Development Minister Harjit Sajjan, Natural Resources Minister Jonathan Wilkinson, and Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard Minister Joyce Murray.

      Unlike cabinet ministers, parliamentary secretaries do not receive an annual car allowance from the government.

      As the NDP House Leader, Peter Julian (Burnaby–New Westminster) also receives an $18,100 annual stipend on top of his MP's salary.

      Meanwhile, as leader of the NDP, Jagmeet Singh (Burnaby South) receives an annual salary of $248,700.