Q Hall of Fame 2013 inductees include Vancouver's Barb Snelgrove

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      It's Barb Snelgrove's year.

      The community powerhouse was not only the winner of the Community Superstar trophy at the Pride Legacy Awards, but she will also be inducted into the Q Hall of Fame Canada

      Snelgrove has had an extensive career in devoting herself to numerous queer organizations and causes, and often serves as an emcee for community events.

      She is a Queer FM cohost and Outlook TV reporter; an emcee for numerous fundraising events; board member of numerous organizations, including the Vancouver Pride Society, Qmunity, and more; committee volunteer for Vancouver City Hall LGBTTQ Advisory Committee, Positive Living B.C. Red Ribbon Advisory Panel Member, AIDS WALK for LIFE Community Advisory Committee, Vancouver Police Department Diversity Advisory Committee, and more; and other extensive community work.

      (One title that is clearly not applicable to her is "underachiever".) 

      She told the Straight at the Pride Legacy Awards reception that some of the things she feels most pleased with include "helping to put Vancouver on the map in terms of LGBTQ tourism. And of course our parade. When I started with the parade, it was a little 30,000-person affair. So it's grown leaps and bounds. It’s been an incredible ride and an honour to be a part of it and to see it grow. It's like being a parent, watching a kid grow up in its teenage years. Who knows how large it's going to get now?"

      The Q Hall of Fame will be recognizing seven Canadians who have made outstanding contributions to human rights.

      Past inductees include Pierre Elliott Trudeau; k.d. lang; Vancouverites Janine Fuller, Kevin Dale McKeown, and Joan-E; and more.

      This year's inductees include:

      Jack Layton (1950-2011): One of the first politicians to openly support Canada's LGBT communities. He served as the NDP leader from 2003 to 2011.

      Jane Rule (1931-2007): Author and activist

      Barbara Snelgrove: Vancouver-based writer, community activist, and host

      Reverend Brent Hawks: Performed Canada's first gay marriage after legislation passed, and is internationally known for his work for LGBT communities

      Marie Robertson: Ontario-based activist and counselor

      Harold Demerais: Ontario-based community organizer since 1970

      Darrin Hagen: activist, performance artist, and cofounder of crossdressing theatre group

      The inductees will be honoured at the Q Ball on October 3 at the Toronto Region Board of Trade.

      You can follow Craig Takeuchi on Twitter at twitter.com/cinecraig. You can also follow the Straight's LGBT coverage on Twitter at twitter.com/StraightLGBT.