B.C. NDP under John Horgan appears poised to win majority government

    1 of 1 2 of 1

      Early results suggest that John Horgan will become the first B.C. NDP leader to win two consecutive elections.

      The B.C. NDP is leading in 54 seats just over an hour after polls closed, with the B.C. Liberals leading in 30 and the B.C. Greens leading in three.

      TV stations have projected an NDP majority government.

      Long-term B.C. Liberal strongholds in Richmond and Langley are among those in the NDP camp right now.

      The B.C. Greens are leading in Cowichan Valley, which was held by party leader Sonia Furstenau when the legislature was dissolved.

      Incumbent B.C. green Adam Olsen has opened up a lead in Saanich North and the Islands. And another Green, Jeremy Valeriote, is leading B.C. Liberal incumbent Jordan Sturdy in West Vancouver–Sea to Sky.

      B.C. Green Nicole Charlwood in Nelson-Creston is trailing New Democrat Brittny Anderson in Nelson-Creston by 28 votes.

      The only NDP incumbent who is losing is former cabinet minister Jinny Sims in Surrey-Panorama. Dr. Gulzar Cheema, a former B.C. Liberal MLA, is narrowly ahead of her in Surrey-Panorama.

      In Surrey-Cloverdale, B.C. Liberal incumbent Marvin Hunt is losing to former Surrey city councillor Mike Starchuk. Hunt is a former chair of Metro Vancouver.

      Four-term B.C. Liberal candidate Mary Polak is losing to the NDP's Andrew Mercier in Langley.

      And in Langley East, the NDP's Megan Dykeman is leading B.C. Liberal Margaret Kunst, who voted against a rainbow crosswalk as a city councillor. 

      In Vancouver–False Creek, NDP candidate Brenda Bailey has opened up a large lead over B.C. Liberal incumbent Sam Sullivan, a former mayor of Vancouver.

      All the other Vancouver seats don't appear to be changing hands. If these results hold up after all the votes are counted, the NDP will end up with nine of 11 Vancouver seats.

      Former NDP MPs Fin Donnelly, Murray Rankin, and Nathan Cullen are all leading in their races in Coquitlam–Burke Mountain, Oak Bay–Gordon Head, and Stikine, respectively.

      There are still a half-million mail-in votes that need to be counted. Elections B.C. is hoping to have final results by November 16.


      At 10:50 p.m. the NDP was leading or elected in 55 constituencies. The B.C. Liberals have 29 candidates leading or elected. The B.C. Greens have three leading or elected.

      NDP incumbent Jinny Sims has opened up a sizeable lead in Surrey-Panorama over Liberal Dr. Gulzar Cheema.